Mariah Carey ~ Through The Rain

When you get caught in the rain
With nowhere to run
When you’re distraught and in pain
Without anyone

We keep praying to saved
But nobody comes
And you feel so far away
That you just can’t

Find your way home
You can get there alone
It’s okay
What you say

I can make it through the rain
I can stand up once again
On my own and I know
That I’m strong enough to mend
And every time I feel afraid
I hold tighter to my faith
And I live one more day
And I make it through the rain

Hoo…hoo…doo doo doo
Ooh…hoo…mmm…hmm…

And if you keep falling down
Don’t you dare give in
You will arise safe and sound
So keep pressing on

Step fastly
And you’ll find what you need
To prepare
What you say

I can make it through the rain
I can stand up once again
On my own and I know
That I’m strong enough to mend
And every time I feel afraid
I hold tighter to my faith
And I live one more day
And I make it through the rain

And when the wind moves
And shadows grow close
Don’t be afraid
There’s nothing you can’t face

And sure they tell you
You’ll never pull through
Don’t hesitate
Stay calm and sane

I can make it through the rain
I can stand up once again
On my own and I know
That I’m strong enough to mend
And every time I feel afraid
I hold tighter to my faith
And I live one more day
And I make it through the rain

I can make it through the rain
Can stand up once again
And I live one more day
And I’ll make it through the rain

Ooh, yes, you can
Mmm…hmm…
You can make it through the rain

The first time I listened to this song…it was probably a couple of years back when I was still in lower Secondary. It is a truly inspirational song, one of the top in my list of favourites. Since it was one of the good old classics and I have never done it before, I decided to try analyzing the song…parts of it of course not the entire thing.

This song is basically telling us not to give up no matter how bleak things see. The word ‘Rain’ is mainly used, not in a literal sense in this song, but to symbolize the problems which we have in our lives. Thus, from the title ‘ Through the rain’, it basically refers to the problems we encounter and go through.

When the song starts out, it evokes the emotion of fear, sadness, loneliness, hopelessness; emotions that portray our helplessness in general. I do not know about every one else, but for me, the image which enters my head is me myself being trapped in my own head. I am alone with no one around me, a complete void of some sort, no navigation nor direction, no humans, no living creatures. Nothing, but a barren land. I lose myself and I fall, sitting down and not wishing to go anywhere.

As the song reaches its first chorus, I see a tiny bud from beneath the ground, close to where I am sitting, sprouting but not reaching its full bloom. I shift my position a little, letting my fingers stroke the bud and having a small smile form on my face.

At the second verse, I see a wolf pup limping towards me. It seems…injured…and I pitied it…until it looked at me straight in the eye. Then, I realise what it was feeling was not helplessness but determination, and that starts off the second chorus of the song.

With that, as the chorus starts playing again, I see myself standing up full, filled with slightly more confidence, with the wolf pup by my side. I stood there, with my white dress billowing in the wind and I took my first step, with the white wolf next to me as well. Each time I stepped, I realized the wolf pup grew stronger and larger too.

However, at the bridge of the song, I see my inner demons, manifested in my worst fear, loneliness, again. I hesitate, seeing myself again as a loner and no one with me. However, as the bridge of the song was about to end, my wolf pup, now almost the size of a full grown wolf, stood next to me and nudged me forward.

As the song climaxes into its last, strongest, most powerful chorus, my inner demons disappear. For once, I see life around me. Lush green grass filled the place and my bare foot no longer tread on sand but soft grass blades. My wolf is now full grown and I see something in the distance. Just as the song ends, I realize that what I saw in the distance from before are all my closed ones…and the wolf turns into someone whom is the closest to my heart.

Everything ends with the scene showing the flower in full bloom at close-up.

Yup. That’s the image I got when I listened to Mariah Carey’s Through the Rain =) And now it’s off to bed for me. Ja ne~

Leave a Reply

