A life-changing decision (Part I)

Admit it. We have all argued with our parents at least once in our lives, especially in our rebellious teenage years. The typical complaints would be ‘my parents are so naggy’, ‘my parents are so controlling’, ‘i hate my parents’ in varied forms.
More often that not, our parents are simply concerned for us. True, some may be over-protective or over-concerned but at least they protect their own children from harm.
Now, what happens if the child has a parent who treats her like an asset and the other parent cares on a very shallow level; who abuses her in such a way that she is unable to seek help because no one believes her. What then? What happens next?

Based on a true story, ‘A Life-changing Decision’ is told in a form of dialogue (a pretty short one) between a young female adult and her mother. So, read on and enjoy.

“Choose now. Him, or me.”

The tensed silence in the room was killing me. I faced my mother, both of us standing in a rigid stance opposite each other; our hazel coloured eyes glaring into each other’s.

 Just a few minutes ago, I was nearly killed in a car crash, thanks to my mother. Impulsively stepping on the accelerator, she threatened to crash both me and her.

That was how she found out about her latest relationship with a male she detests to the core. 

Then again, that’s how she finds out things, through psychological torture. Yeah, my own mother, using that kind of dirty tactic on me. How sweet. 

“Are you deaf? I said choose!”

The tension increased by ten folds. I could tell she was getting madder, but I no longer cared. After her attempted murder on me, I was too much of a wreck to care about her emotions any longer. 

“Him. I choose him.” That did it. That flipped her switch.

“SAY THAT AGAIN?!” she bellowed. If it were under different circumstances, I would have literally repeated ‘that again’. 

However, I’m no sadomasochist. I know a cornered animal that’s about to bite back when I see one.

So, I quietly repeated,

“I choose him, over you.”

“YOU DARE?! YOU UNGRATEFUL DAUGHTER?! YOU DARE CHOOSE A MAN WHOM YOU’VE BEEN DATING FOR JUST A FEW MONTHS OVER ME?! YOUR MOTHER?!”

Here we go again. The all famous tactic which she just LOVES to use – guilt treatment. Honestly, I’m getting sick and tired of it.

“I BROUGHT YOU UP FOR TWENTY YEARS! TWENTY YEARS!! AND THIS IS HOW YOU REPAY ME?!” I remained silent.

“I gave you such a good life. I took care of you, I gave you everything you ever asked for, AND THIS IS HOW YOU SHOW YOUR APPRECIATION?!” More silence. I stared back at her without saying a word.

“WELL?! SAY SOMETHING! You unfilial, ungrateful -“

“No.” That caught her off-caught.

“What?” 

“No, you did not. You did NOT give me a good life. In fact, you gave me a life that was almost equal to that of Hell.” 

So what exactly did our protagonist suffer under her mother? Was it really as bad as she says? Or was it simply all her imagination? Stay tune to find out more.

Leave a Reply

