Singapore – Legalize Oral/Anal sex…Bans Gay sex…

MPs in Singapore have legalised oral and anal sex for adult heterosexuals but kept the ban on gay sex, saying that the bill was what citizens in the conservative island state wanted.

The reforms, which were passed on Tuesday, represent the most extensive revision of the conservative city state’s penal code in more than two decades.

The changes mean oral and anal sex between consenting heterosexual adults is no longer an offense but section 377A, which deals with oral and anal sex between consenting men, remains in force…

full article: http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2007/oct/24/gayrights.uk?fb_action_ids=10150673991521383&fb_action_types=news.reads&fb_source=other_multiline

Personally, I’m pretty open about GLBTs but I’m not an extremist. I won’t go on strike to allow gay sex nor will I go against those who do not allow it.

Correct me if I’m wrong but I’m pretty sure that quite a number of you out there (especially the younger generation) would be pretty pissed/annoyed/upset at this.

‘WHY IS ORAL AND ANAL SEX ALLOWED BETWEEN HETEROSEXUALS BUT NOT HOMOSEXUALS?!’

I’m not saying I agree with his actions. In fact just a few months ago I’d have throw a hissy fit and started ranting as well. However, my partner calmed me down and had a little chat with me to help me understand things better.

I’m a female but I thrive on hard facts and logic. Science. Statistics. The likes.

Conservative Society Roots

Being a conservative society is one thing. After all, we ARE Asians by blood and not Caucasians. Yes, our country is rather modernized and westernized due to Globalisation (or should it be called Americanisation?) BUT our forefathers came from China not America. So yeah, Gay sex is something that isn’t exactly something which they would be too quick to allow.

Ageing Population

Yeah. Ageing Population. I was pretty surprised at first cause I didn’t see the link. After explaining and helping me link up the facts, I finally saw what he meant. I guess you could say this was the point where I started to see things a little differently. Let’s face the facts. We ARE an ageing population. Our birth rate is declining. Imagine how things will be like when we get older – who’s going to take care of us?

Adoption is one thing but I wouldn’t say it’s a permanent solution. Those who read will know that only a few species of animals can mate within the same sex and still produce babies. We humans are definitely not one of them.
When we grow old, we’d need the younger generation to care for us. No one’s immortal and no human can live for centuries to come.

GLBTS are humans too

GLBTs are humans like us. They’re neither saints nor angels. There ARE extremists amongst them too, believe it or not. So yeah, there is a possibility that homosexuals, like heterosexuals, can be a**holes as well. Sorry for the crude language but it’s true.

Of course at the end of the day, it doesn’t mean that though I understand where the policy is coming from…it means i agree with it. So yeah, talk about a dilemma.

Cheers everyone ~

Leave a Reply

