Volunteering – Why I don’t do so

Well…yeah I admit. I’m guilty of being one of those who fares quite low in the activeness of volunteering scale. Kinda’ sad. Used to be really active in volunteering for different organisations…until I grew up and saw the world in a whole new light.

For some reasons, not everyone grows up in the same way. Some remain ever hopeful that the world will become a much better place. Me? I’m pretty much skeptical about how the world will turn out. Maybe that’s why I don’t do volunteery work as much anymore.

Maybe.

After all, even with all the ‘feel good’ vibes one feels during the volunteering process, at the end of the day I can’t help but wonder – did I really help the person? Why am I doing it? Is it out of the goodness of my own heart or is it cause I’m asked to do so.

Every time I see inspirational quotes, like how even small actions can make a huge difference…I remain in a rather pessimistic position. To me, it’s a simple case of if you can’t solve the entire issue or at least 90% of it, why bother?

Maybe it’s just me.

Maybe it’s cause I don’t see the point of volunteering my services after seeing how dreadful the world can get.

Maybe I have been tainted far beyond redemption to see any good in the world.

Or maybe I just don’t see the point.

Who knows.

What about you?

Do you enjoy volunteering? If yes, why? If no, why?

Leave a Reply

